Where I Left and Who I Became

In order to really perfect my blog beginnings and start writing my experiences down, I feel I must start here. Wanderlust has been intertwined into who I am since I can remember and it wasn’t till last year that I realized that the desire could not settle for a few vacations a year around my home state of Kansas.

Home was filled with people who will love me till I get back, now sentimental surroundings, and the best bean and cheese burritos that I’ve ever eaten. All that aside, I was ready to set-out to find whatever my heart was looking for, and the week before I turned 21 I was pulling into Cheley Colorado Camps.

All I really knew about this camp was what I read on their website and that it had beautiful surroundings. What I did not know is what I was truly getting into. I began working at a summer camp that intented to better your best self, working for two months at a job like that was both amazing and strenuous.

I find this job very difficult to describe to people, because I had the oppurtunity of being a hiking counselor. This meant my job, was literally exploring the Rocky Mountains. Which was at most times complete paradise, but it was also the most vigorous thing I have ever done. Waking up at 6:45, 6 days a week and 5 of them knowing I would be hiking most of the day is one challenge, but taking 8-13 girls really made for character building.

Behind every beautiful picture is me, truly finding bliss. In some cases, behind that bliss is crying kids, four straight days of hiking, and working 24 hours a day for the last 5 days. It was mostly complicated because I truly did love the girls I was hiking with, their varying personalities and child-like humor really make it hard to not live in the moment. On the other hand, there were times I think I sounded more like a drill sergeant , or times when I needed time to think but silence was not an option.

I guess what the job taught me is to really roll with the moment. Making the best out of every situation and convincing yourself that it’s about what you need and not what you get can really change the moment. I have made memories that I will cherish for a lifetime, seen landscapes people only dream of, and met people I will never forget and will probably never see again.. It was a very bittersweet summer.

2 thoughts on “Where I Left and Who I Became

Leave a Reply

